top of page
Delta Sigma Theta, Sorority, Inc.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated. is a private, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. The sorority currently has 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, Canada, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica, West Africa and the Republic of Korea.

Mission Statement

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated is an organization of college educated women committed to constructive development of its members and to public service with a primary focus on the Black community.

The Mighty Midwest Region

During the first few years of Delta's existence, tremendous growth and the establishment of chapters throughout the nation provided the Sorority wtih a geographically and culturally diverse membership. During the 1925 National Convention in Des Moines, Iowa, Regional Conferences were installed as a permanent institution with authorization to convene in April 1926. This structure provides unique advantages for internal development and furthering of Delta's mission, ideals and principles. Every biennium, sorors gather from around their region to enjoy fellowship, strengthen their bonds of sisterhood and plan for meaningful, relevant public service.

The Midwest Region of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is an eight state geographic area that encompasses Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, West Virginia and Wisconsin. Currently, there are 134 alumnae and undergraduate chapters in the Midwest with an active membership that exceeds 6000. Since 1926 there have been 26 Midwest Regional Directors and 21 Regional Representatives. The first Regional Representative was elected in 1970. 

The Region is rich in Delta History.  The Beta Chapter is the second chapter of the Sorority and was chartered at Wilberforce University (Ohio). Chicago’s first Delta chapter, Lambda, was organized under the leadership of Founder Osceola McCarthy Adams. Additional Midwest legacies include the pyramid pin, which was designed by Epsilon Chapter at The Ohio State University, and the Sorority Crest that was designed by Gladys Byram Shepperd (Past National President) and Ailene T. Marks.

The Midwest Region has been the home to nine of the 22 Founders - Osceola McCarthy Adams, Marguerite Young Alexander, Myra Davis Hemmings, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Mamie Reddy Rose,  Ethel Carr Watson, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Madree Penn White and Edith Motte Young.  The following  National Presidents reside or have resided in the Midwest :
3rd National President, Ethel LeMay Calimese
4th National President, Anna Johnson Julian
5th National President, Gladys Byram Shepperd
6th National President, Jeannette Triplett Jones
8th National President, Elsie Austin
11th National President, Dorothy P. Harrison
15th National President, Lillian Pierce Benbow
18th National President, Hortense Golden Canady
21st National President, Marcia L. Fudge, Esq.
25th National President, Paulette C. Walker, Ph.D.

26th National President, Beverly E. Smith

For more information, visit the Midwest Region website at

midwest image.png
bottom of page